[Project_owners] [Fwd: Getting mozdev.org Off Of Comcast's Email Blacklist]

Douglas E. Warner silfreed at silfreed.net
Sun Dec 16 12:23:36 PST 2007


On Sunday 16 December 2007, David White wrote:
> Perhaps there is someone out there who can help with this?
>
> I am writing a small PHP page which I hope to host on my project's
> mozdev site (Thunderbirdbiff). It's purpose is to help validate that a
> given email address is, in fact, valid on the smtp server from the
> email's domain. As such, the routine finds the MX servers for the
> domain
> and opens a socket on those servers at port 25. Then a partial SMTP
> conversation occurs over the port to confirm that the email address'
> user is known.
>
> When I open the socket trying to connect to the Comcast.net network, I
> get an SMTP error which basically says that they have blacklisted
> mozdev.org (140.211.166.81) as they think it is a source of SPAM. They
> direct me to the following page
> <http://www.comcast.net/help/faq/index.jsp?faq=SecurityMail_Policy18628>
> which details the error condition and provides links to start the
> process of removing the IP from the blacklist.
>
> I wonder if someone out there reading this is a sys admin type who can
> get this process rolling? I really doubt that mozdev.org originates
> SPAM.

David, thanks for the report and the detailed information.  I'll get the ball 
rolling and see what they say.

-Doug

-- 
Douglas E. Warner    <silfreed at silfreed.net>    Site Developer
Mozdev.org           http://www.mozdev.org
-------------- next part --------------
A non-text attachment was scrubbed...
Name: not available
Type: application/pgp-signature
Size: 189 bytes
Desc: This is a digitally signed message part.
Url : http://www.mozdev.org/pipermail/project_owners/attachments/20071216/02f3474c/attachment.bin 


More information about the Project_owners mailing list